top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

God gave me a Diamond! and so now, I write...


A Diamond from God

The morning, rainy and dismal… getting ready for one of those all day women’s retreats and I was the designated driver! Why? Because I drove a mini-van!

There would be several speakers, workshops, and a buffet including two unidentified meats, a slightly browning salad, and over cooked green beans resembling green bean pudding… maybe if I was lucky, cheesecake for dessert!

My friends and I packed in the car, and off we drove to the retreat destination.

I dutifully dropped my friends to the front door insisting that I didn’t mind walking in the rain from the parking lot. There was no reason for all of us to get wet.

Thoughts rolled through my mind as I made way to the entrance…I am writing an article about friendship; Friendships are like the fascists of a diamond. The more fascists… the more the diamond sparkles, the more friends… the brighter your life. I think it might make a good story, but more important… Am I a good enough writer to convey my message? I had plenty of doubts!

At the front door of the meeting place, the opening speaker had begun. I walked through the front door, my jean skirt spotted with rain drops and my cotton blouse clung to my skin. My nineteen eighties big hair plastered to my head with melting hairspray, and my toes wet; truly a genius decision to wear sandals that day! I was a mess and longed to become the invisible women.

In the auditorium, hundreds of smartly groomed, well dressed, and DRY women sat. I guessed they, like my friends had been dropped off at the door. I wondered where the section was for all the water drenched van-drivers!

I spotted a target seat in the back of the room. It looked like the perfect place to dry out. I discreetly aimed in that direction. It was awful… I was wet, sticky, and soggy!

I almost reached my chair when I felt a hand on my arm. It was woman I had never seen in my life. She was small stature, sharply dressed, and at least twenty years my senior. She introduced herself and complimented my outfit. Really…I looked like I had crawled out of a washing machine!

She explained that God told her to come meet me. We chatted a minute in the back of the room, actually trying to figure out why God had brought us together. She shared that she was an author from Dallas, Texas. This was no coincidence, so I shared my plans for making my writing a more serious pursuit in my life. She left me with a few words of advice, “Always write about things you experience for yourself”. I assumed that was the message God had for me!

I knew God had sent her to encourage me. It gave purpose for my being there! I was grateful for the message, so I thought God was done for the day. That would have been enough, but God is not a God of just enough. He wants us to overflow with blessing. He was not done with me! God wanted me right where I was… workshops, speakers, and that expected lunch buffet...with cheesecake!

I scanned the group of ladies several times that morning, in hopes of spotting God’s messenger once again; but, so many woman were crowded around me, I thought it impossible to run into her again, however while in the lunch line, I felt a hand on my back. Amazingly,it was her, my messenger from God! I thanked her for the advice and once more I felt God’s peace.

The woman kept one hand on my back, the other held out to me in tight fist. ” I have a gift for you, but it is not from me. It is a gift from God" she stated. She continued to explain,"He told me to give it to you, and you would understand”. She opened her hand and I saw a tissue wrapped object laying there. She asked me to unwrap it. Inside was a sparkly brooch… the shape of a diamond ring! The Friendship and Diamond story flashed in my mind. I knew without a doubt this was my writing assurance from God!

I appreciated her obedience in giving me her brooch. This act not only secured my passion for writing, but also for listening and obeying His instructions.

I’m sorry to say, I have never seen the woman again and I don’t even remember her name. I suppose it was the message, not the messenger that was to impact my life.

I am now the author of several published children’s books. Even to this day, some thirty years later, I write from my own experiences. For the children’s entertainment, I have squirrels, groundhogs, and rabbits living out my stories, but the situations and experiences of the characters are all my own.

The diamond brooch is a bit tarnished and missing some small stones, however it still lies on my writing desk as a reminder that anything I write, any idea I have, any character I create is given to me by God! I am still grateful for the woman's obedience!


No tags yet.
bottom of page