top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

Cock-a-doodle-do Grammy!

Parker, my ten year old grandson is a delight in the mornings. He is easy to wake up, always in a good mood, and ready to have his egg and sausage breakfast even before my feet touch the floor!

His mom wakes him at six a.m. and he pokes his head into my room and sings out a cock-a-doodle-do to me a short time afterwards. It is impossible to be annoyed at the early wake-up call with Parker’s sweet voice as my alarm clock!

He starts my day off with a smile and puts me into a good mood, even with all my aging aches and early morning pains! How could I not rise to the occasion, to fry up his favorite scrambled egg breakfast? After all, every morning rain, shine, or freezing cold, my ten year old grandson ventures outside to feed, water and gather the eggs of our backyard chickens; all before his bus comes to wisp him off to school.

It was the first day of the Christmas holiday vacation, and truth was, I was looking forward to getting a couple extra hours of morning sleep . I had turned off my alarm the night before and was ready to settle down for a long winter’s nap! When out in the hallway, I heard such a clatter, I sprang from my bed to see what was a matter…it was six a.m. and there was Parker, dressed and ready to start his day.

His mom and I tried to explain that he should go back to bed, because this was his Christmas vacation. His response to us made me wince with guilt for my lack of appreciation of life…”I know, said Parker, I just don’t want to sleep through even one minute of my vacation!”

With that said, he was off to take care of the chickens and yes, Grammy mustered up enough holiday strength to stumble into the kitchen and scramble up a couple of fresh brown eggs for Parker!...and one big pot of coffee for the rest of the family!

Welcome to the sweet world of being a Grammy. A world where a ten year old can be the example for a well-seasoned lady. If I add all the extra hours up Parker has given to me, I am sure the number would be astonishing. Cooking a healthy breakfast for Parker, daily Bible reading and a few less weeds in the garden are a few of the added benefits of starting my day off earlier.

God wants us to rest, but he doesn’t want us sleeping on the job! I love to start my day humming an old song that still makes me smile, Rise and shine and give God the Glory! Psalms 118: 24 says, “This is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it!” An early start is the best way I know to celebrate as much of God’s day as I am able!

Karla


No tags yet.
bottom of page