top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

So...What am I doing today?

Fun-ta-see Christmas Trees

I hear folks complaining about all the Christmas decorations and crafts that are already available in the stores; I for one love it! How else would I ever be ready if I had to wait until after Thanksgiving to begin and finish all the handmade gifts and decorations I plan to execute this year!

This is the first holiday season in a very long time that I am enjoying the opportunity of creating many of the gifts I am giving this season. Some of my favorite things have been handmade and given to me by friends I love and respect for their talents.

It brings to mind a beautiful Nativity set hand-painted by my one of my dearest girlfriends. Kathy’s talent and passion for her art is exhibited in every detail down to the realistic eyes that serenely stare at the baby Jesus cradled in his little hay-painted manger. This gift is a treasure to me!

Today I am making fun little fabric trees. I like to call them “Fun-ta-see Trees”. I love craft projects that are fast and easy, however look much more arduous in the finished work.

Here’s how…

You need...1 floral foam tree any size

1 package of dress maker straight pins

Fabric scraps...any kind any color cut into some 2 inch and 1 inch squares ( Amount will vary with tree size.)

  • Using 2 inch square fabric pieces at the bottom of a floral-foam tree and 1 inch squares as I near the top two rows…Use dress maker pins and begin pinning them into the floral-foam tree. This is easy-peasy! Just make sure none green foam is left showing. Overlapping your squares as you go along each rows

  • I used left over fabric scraps from other projects and topped with a little voile bow…that, by the way was a piece of an old curtain shear cut into a 12 X 1inch strip!

  • A little wrapped rosette flower sits on top, but you can use any thing you like…No glue, no mess, just pins! This is a great project for kids or impatient adults like me!

So start creating for the holiday season today!

My best to everyone,

Karla


No tags yet.
bottom of page