top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

Left overs again!!!

Remembering

I remember when I was a little girl, how my dad would tease my mother by giving names to any leftovers she prepared for an evening meal.

"Well look who came back for supper! Good old George", he would address the pan of potatoes, and "Hello, John, old buddy, nice to see you again", he would say with sugary-sweet affection to the dish of corn pudding.

It never made my mother angry, because she knew it was all good fun! She also knew that we would eat with no hesitancy whatever she sat on the table. She was an excellent cook and had a knack for dressing up the leftovers!

Mother practiced the secret of repurposing and refreshing long before it was vogue to do so.

I learned early in my life not to waste anything and with today's economy, I am so glad to be as creative as my mother!

Try one of my favorite left-over recipes!

Dessert Pudding

I keep a freezer bag in the deep freeze to add any left over desserts that would normally be thrown out. The last two pieces of a sweet bread, that left over cupcake or two, cookies, or even the last muffin that you would normally throw away. Anything, any flavor goes in the bag!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Veggie spray an 8 1/2 by 11 inch class or metal cake pan

Ingredients

5 cups of the left over desserts -any flavor goes!

3 eggs -beaten

1 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla or (rum flavor)

8 oz. of chocolate, white chocolate, or butterscotch chips

  • Beat eggs, milk and vanilla until well blended in large bowl

  • Add left over desserts and fold until well coated

  • Add chips and stir evenly through the batter

  • Pour into the greased cake pan

  • Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until firm and golden brown

Sauce

4 tbsp. Melted butter

1 cup cream (or milk)

A splash of rum or bourbon flavor (or the real thing...the alcohol cooks off )

Add all ingredients to a small sauce pan and cook till mixture is smooth and warmed all the way through. Spoon over warm dessert pudding as you serve. Great with vanilla ice cream!

So, don't eat the last cookie just to get rid of it, and don't throw out the last bit of birthday cake...Throw it all into a freezer bag. Yes, Icing and all! You are in for a real treat with this recipe.

I

No tags yet.
bottom of page