top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

Back Roads


* Published in the April/May 2018 issue of Mary Janes Farm Magazine

"Thought my blog followers may relate and enjoy!"

Here we are, driving into summer! My favorite time of year…White hemlock clusters, tiny, blue corn flowers, and wispy fan tailed grasses blowing along the roadside.

I love driving back roads instead of the more efficient four lane highways available to us. If there is a way to get someplace on a back road, I will choose it. Certainly not for their time saving advantages, but for their roadside vegetable stands, the occasional yard sale, and striking bouquets of summer foliage.

I love to find back roads that are dotted with dried thistle, blooming iron weed, and yellow golden rod…the makings of a gorgeous fall wreath! I love them even more when I discover an old rocky driveway that leads to nowhere… allowing me the safety of pulling off the road and cutting a few treasured weeds. And yes, I always have a pair of scissors with me!

Our city is noted for its Zoo and Aquarium, however my back road drive allows me the opportunity of spotting magnificent wildlife from the comfort of my car. Stately antlered bucks, caramel haired does, and tiny spotted fawns munch on grass over in fields beyond the flower fringed roads. Often an opossum, a shy red fox, or a plump ground hog dart into the weedy foliage, permitting me the pleasure of a quick glance.

Back roads are indeed not usually a shortcut. They don’t save time and they are not the shortest distance between two points. They do however, bring me joy, peace, and memories to share. Old farm fences and shabby red barns inspire me to live a more simple and peaceful life. Back roads remind me of all the blessings we are freely given. I have learned to embrace the beauty of time worn houses adorned with lush, weedy grapevine wreaths and chippy painted porch swings.

There are curves, no doubt on my back roads, however they only slow me down a little. This is my opportunity to discover the beauty in landscape. It peaks my curiosity of what is beyond the next bend. Highways produce traffic jams that tend to stop us, agitate us, and allow boredom to creep in our minds. No, I say, “Give me a curvy-winding back road that keeps me moving! Slow and steady wins the race, right"?

Zipping down the interstate has its benefits I suppose, but for me back roads provide quality time for thinking and mind pictures for lifting my mood. I may arrive at my destination later than everyone, but I will arrive richer, fuller and with a trunk filled with crusty dried weeds, a rusty yard sale find, or a basket of green beans. There is much to be found in life, when we take the curves with gratitude, patience and anticipation of what is around the bend!

By the way, if you are driving behind me, I warn you…I do break for Yard Sales!

Karla Harney Thompson


No tags yet.
bottom of page